Five Schools of Zen


Building Mainly in the Tang dynasty in China, Traditional Zen is traditionally divided historically into the 5 Homes of Zen or five "Educational institutions". These Had been not Initially regarded as "Educational institutions" or "sects", but historically, they have Are available to be understood that way. In their Earlier Background, the Educational institutions Had been not institutionalized, they Had been Not having dogma, and the Instructors who founded them Had been not idolized.

The 5 Homes of Zen are: Guiyang (Japn.,Igyo), named Soon after masters Guishan Lingyou (Japn., Isan Reiy, 771-854) and Yangshan Huiji (Japn., Kyozan Ejaku, 813-890) Linji (Japn., Rinzai), named Soon after master Linji Yixuan (Japn., Rinzai Gigen, died 866) Caodong (Japn., Soto), named Soon after masters Dongshan Liangjie (Japn., Tozan Ryokai, 807-869) and Caoshan Benji (Japn., Sozan Honjaku, 840-901) Yunmen (Japn., Unmon), named Soon after master Yunmen Wenyan (Japn., Unmon Bun’en, died 949) Fayan (Japn., Hogen, named Soon after master Fayan Wenyi (also Fa-yen Wen-i) (Japn., Hogen Mon’eki, 885-958) Most Zen lineages Through
Asia and the Sleep of the Planet Initially grew from or Had been heavily influenced by the Authentic five houses of Zen.

No comments:

Post a Comment